It’s Fall, y’all. Part One: Sweaters and Scarves.

“Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.”

F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

I’m all for summer fun. I love the freckles, and crop tops, and the seemingly never ending nights.

But, I also love sweaters, and football, and warming up by a crackling fire.  God really knew what he was doing when he created the seasons…they creep up just in time…rewarding you with a change in weather, wardrobe, and flavors.

Texas fall can sometimes be hard, wardrobe wise. Our weather is somewhat bi polar. It can be 80 degrees one day and fall to below 50 degrees the next. (I remember wearing shorts in December last year).

Here’s what I’ve been doing to transition my wardrobe into fall and keep me from suffocating myself due to poor choice in clothing:

Pair a sweater with a skirt you’d usually wear leggings with. 

FAll 1 outfit

This gives you room to “breath” and not overheat! This chunky cable knit sweater with elbow patches I bought from here. The mini is a tweed fabric with buttons that’s from here circa 2007. Does that make it vintage? I skipped the usual tights and paired it with my favorite pair of oxfords. With a high of 80 and a low of 50, this outfit was the perfect combination for Fall in Texas.

Think Thin.

fall 12 outfitWhen shopping for fall clothing, buy thin. This lets allows you to get more versatility, because you can always layer it with boots or a scarf to provide more warmth. This is another great sweater from here, paired with my all time favorite pair of pants from my all time favorite store. (I have them in multiple colors and am not ashamed!)  My shoes are my favorite buy this fall- suede wedge booties. I found them accidentally here.

Mo Shoes, Mo Problems Less Problems.

fall shoes

*Not pictured, my fabulous Uggs, that are definitely my favorite Winter shoe! But really, shoes can make or break your outfit and boots can help you create an effortless fall look. Pair them with jeans, skirts, or dresses. They are no rules- you can even throw in a contrasting tall sock! (Pictured from left to right, Marshall’s, Indigo by Clarks, Frye, Olsenboye, Nine West, Gianni Bini, Nine West).

Now you have no excuse but to look the season. Excuse me, but I think my pumpkin hot chocolate is ready…See you next time for part two: Cookies and Crafts!

2 thoughts on “It’s Fall, y’all. Part One: Sweaters and Scarves.

Leave a Reply

