College Football Makes Me Sad.

This is my first fall without going to school. It’s weird, but then it’s not…It’s weird because it was something I did for 16 years. It’s not all that weird because I already feel like I’ve been gone for a while. Maybe I was mentally gone for a while.

I remember graduating high school and not being sad. I had friends who cried, but me? I would cry if I got out of there any later!

I loved college. It was the perfect set up. You don’t go full days *disclaimer, my last semester I went 9-5 without any breaks and had to eat lunch on the way to my next class*, all your friends are within 5 minutes and so are all your favorite restaurants. Most importantly, you got to take naps. I graduated in 3.5 years with one of the most hour intensive majors, 147 to be exact. I never took less than 16 hours, took 18 hours twice, was a leader in my sorority, involved in honor societies, and had a social life on top of studying and withholding a GPA above a 3.5.

I’m not saying I didn’t enjoy college, it was wonderful and I have the best memories and awesome friends! I just think it’s human nature to want to keep climbing and get to the next big thing and I did that. I’m not sure that I fully enjoyed where I was at the time to the complete extent I should have. Sure, looking ahead is important because setting goals is what gets you places, but it’s also important to look around and enjoy the view from where you are at that exact moment.

Lately I’ve been wishing Peter Pan was real and he could whisk me off the Never Never Land so I could get away for awhile. Sadly, he hasn’t showed up and I’ve been doing more and more “grown up” things. In the past 2 weeks I have:

-paid my credit card bill

-went to the gynecologist

-got my oil changed

-picked up and paid for my prescription

-paid rent on my storage unit

-got in  wreck and had to deal with the offender’s insurance

-paid my toll tag bill

-attended two different alum meetings: one for Baylor and one for Tri Delta

-attended a bridal shower

-got my car booted and had to pay a $113 ticket

-purchased anti virus software for my computer

I could keep going, but I’m pretty sure you’d fall asleep and I’m pretty sure you get the gist.

The point, is bloom where you’re planted. I could list some more cliches, but I think Texas girl,(Baylor grad!) singer-songwriter, Jillian Edwards Chapman says it best in her song Nonfiction Love Song:

“Used to want time to run so quickly
Now crawling is fine
Cause the older I get the more
I see I need every moment
To let my roots grow down deep”

So, no. College Football does not actually make me sad- fall, football, and sweater season give me the warm fuzzies inside. It makes me nostalgic for Baylor University and my time spent there. So much happened there and so much of it made me who I am today. Yes, I like my job and getting paid for my time, but that time will mark one of the greatest in my life.

It’s your life. Enjoy it for what it is. Thanks and Sic ’em Bears!

“Make the most of your opportunities because these are evil days.” Ephesians 5:16

6 thoughts on “College Football Makes Me Sad.

  1. Dear Sweet Lauren,
    As I say so many times, you have wisdom beyond your years. Even as an “old lady” of 55 soon to be 56, I need to be reminded to bloom where I am planted and to seize the day as they go by so very quickly. Thank you for encouraging me today! Blessings coming your way, my dear 🙂

  2. L,
    Love to read you on my blog roll. Thank you for being a woman that continues to live out Proverbs 31:25 and laughs at the day to come. Keep up the intelligent writing.
    -L

Leave a Reply

