Of Rabbits and Rush Hour.

Well. It’s been awhile blogosphere.

For over  a month now, I have been rushing around helping plan parties and showers, and for the most part it all ended last weekend. I now have time to sit and write, craft, and run at my own schedule again.

Don’t get me wrong; weddings are fun and a joyful time. But, in this year alone I have mastered the “three times a bridesmaid, never a bride” art. (And my bank account could use a rest, too!)

Ever since I graduated college, I’ve tried to be more dedicated in my running schedule,as to not lose the distance and time I have accomplished. (which isn’t much) While a gym works great, one of my favorite things to do is run outside (that may change once the summer heat really kicks in. today is the first day of summer, after all).  I have to drive about 30 miles to work, so mornings don’t work that well for me, so I’ve grown to enjoy the coolness (is that possible?) of evening runs.

Running every day around the same time, you grow accustom to the scenery…The usual walkers and runners, people fishing in the pond, cows chewing their cud, and even a frog or two. (I’ve debated if they were my frog prince coming to find me or just some playful amphibians that want to play a real life game of Frogger) Though it’s different every night, it is always the same.

One constant, are the rabbits. My suburban neighborhood is filled with rabbits. There are even baby rabbits in my backyard! I do not consider my self a quick  or threatening runner, yet the rabbits still look at my with their frightful, empty, dead shark eyes, as Tina Fey calls them. When they see me rounding the bend, they either:

a)Start running as soon as I am in sight

or

b)Stay very, very still until I get about 2 feet away and then they take off like they’re competing in the 100 yard dash.

Why do they do that?

I’m not Elmer Fudd, nor am I out to get them.

Wait a second.

Isn’t that what we as humans do? We are placed in unfamiliar territory  or in new circumstances and instead of trusting The One who put us there, we get skiddish.

We run off.

We get nervous that we aren’t actually supposed to be in certain situations, when if we would just be still, we’d realize that it is alright. That it isn’t so scary, or lonely, or hard. That if we are living according to God’s plan, we are right where we are supposed to be. Why would you want to run from that?

“He says, ‘Be still, and know that I am God.’ “

Psalm 46:10 a

Leave a Reply

