Thoughts of 2013.

We’re a little over 1 week into 2013. Have you already broken your NY Resolution? What’s your motivation?

Too many times I have seen people fail because their reason for action wasn’t on target.

“I’m going to get fit for my boyfriend.”

“I’m going to get that position to help my personal status and gain recognition.”

“I’ll help him study so I can get study hours done.”

“I’ll be her friend so I can make a move on her brother.”

At some point in time, we’re all prone to doing something with an ulterior motive. Personal gain isn’t a bad thing, but it can be if that is your main focus.

I’ve seen a myriad of people give something their all, but be completely heart broken when they didn’t get said position or reach a certain goal. It interests me, because these same situations 9/10 deal with someone whose heart wasn’t in the right spot. God is very clear about how was should go about our earthly deeds. Colossions 3:23 states

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.”

He also says in Proverbs 16:9

“In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.”

You see, I feel like these people (myself included from time to time) forget how to truly live life. First and foremost, we need to do all things for the glory of God. Second of all, if we know in our hearts that God’s plan is the best, it makes it easier to let go or begin to fathom why certain things occur and some things don’t.

Last year, over Sprinkles cupcakes, my friend Holly and I embarked on this subject. We decided it’s a lot easier to live life with the mindset of having open hands. This allows anything to come into your life, but it also allows God to take away when the need be…to prepare you for something greater. It’s only human nature to want to fist our hands to try to keep all the good things in, but in doing that, bad things can’t get out either.

Are you struggling with keeping on track for a goal or feeling apathetic about a job or position? Relax. Live life with open hands. Let God deal you more than you could imagine.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Thoughts of 2013.

Leave a Reply

