The ending of an era.

If you’re a girl (or guy for that matter) who is in to fashion or Blake Lively, you tuned in for the series finally of Gossip Girl this past Monday. TV shows and movies alike influence the fashion world more than we realize. I recently spoke about how Americans are becoming less trend followers and more trendless, but there are some fashion trends that are just inevitable; You just mindlessly follow them.

The T.V. show Friends aired for 10 seasons, 1994-2004. I never watched the show when it was on; however it indirectly influenced me.

Those pins Rachel Green wore in her hair? I wore.

Those chip clips Phoebe wore? I wore.

The chokers Monica wore? I had about 15 I wore interchangeably.

The Movie Mean Girls came out April 30, 2004.  I was only 13 at the time and wasn’t allowed to see it. Sure, I saw it later on, but that was when I was already deep into my mini skirt phase which lasted for my high school career.

What? Mean Girls wore minis? Whodathought?

Gossip Girl is no different than these previous classics. It ran for 6 seasons, September 2007- December 2012 and has inspired many fashion trends.

Headbands.

Statement pieces.

And many more things that America copied.

Don’t trust me? It’s not just my opinion and it was like that from the get go. Gossip Girl has definitely been the influential fashion show during this recession and I am sad to see it go. Who is next in line to trend inspiring throne? That’s a secret I’ll never tell.

You know you love me.

XOXO,

Elle.

Walk with the wise and become wise,
    for a companion of fools suffers harm. 

Proverbs 13:20

One thought on “The ending of an era.

  1. Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am impressed! Very helpful info specially the closing section 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I used to be seeking this certain info for a very lengthy time. Thanks and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

