Peppermints and Cigarette Smoke.

Today marks a year since my granddaddy passed away. 365 days  may seem like a long time, but it feels like just yesterday that he was here on earth; however,  it’s so easy for crocodile tears to well up at the thought of events he would be at if he were still here.

This summer I lived in Little Rock, Arkansas,  with my Mimi. As I sang in FBCR Little Rock’s church choir that first Sunday I was in town, I glanced out into the audience, halfway expecting him to be there. It felt like I was swallowing a boll of cotton as I choked back sprigs of tears to sing How Great Thou Art.

My friend Molly and I always have talked about wanting to attend our own funeral. We thought it would be cool to see who would be there, what people said about us, and what kind of legacy we left. (A modern day George Bailey act, if you will.)  Perhaps we touched someone we hadn’t realized  or even hurt someone and didn’t think they’d show up, but they did.

My granddaddy, no doubt, left a legacy of laughter and hard work. He was a God-fearing man who was a wonderful example to all. My only hope is that I could leave just a tidbit of the legacy he left behind.  Remember to live and do so with purpose. I know tragedy is always around, but currently it seems like it is more than usual. For example, the Ledet family is proof that no matter your age,  you have a chance to touch people with what life you lived, no matter the length of years you were on this earth.

Live with purpose, and you won’t have to worry about whether or not you touch people or leave a legacy. Living for Christ automatically gives you a legacy to leave. If you show His unconditional love to others and strive to be like Him, you are bound to make an impact on another’s life.

Life is precious; Cherish it.

“The memory of the righteous is a blessing.”

Proverbs 10:7

2 thoughts on “Peppermints and Cigarette Smoke.

Leave a Reply

