Stylenomics.

So far in my college career there have been only two classes I have loathed: economics and finance. Why? Because those are the only  Cs I’ve received and I got them in the same semester. Talk about a double whammy… Granted, I was taking 18 hours, all the while balancing academic meetings, sorority events, and a social life, but still, it makes me mad.

Economics is not really my cup of tea [and apparently, it isn’t America’s government leaders’ either].

Quite frequently people ask me where I get my clothing and how I could spend that much money on something that “isn’t important.” Well, first of all, it’s important to me. No, not to impress others; I just like it. I am an Apparel Major after all… Second of all, I budget money for it. Others people my age spend a similar amount, they just put it toward things like video games, alcohol, or eating out all of the time. That’s fine and dandy, but there’s a market supply of fashion, and I am here to demand it.

I find that a lot of people don’t know how to shop. Shopping smart is the key to a good closet and a happy wallet. I call this concept Stylenomics.

Here’s a few outfits from my personal closet that won’t hurt your bank account. (well, for the most part…investment pieces are important for your wardrobe!)

Dress: JC Penney, Blazer: Urban Outfitters Belt: Kohls

Pants: JC Penney Lace Top: JC Penney  Scarf: Tolani Sweater: JC Penney

Shirt: Ralph Lauren Cardigan: JC Penney Skirt: Elle’s Originals Jeans: J Crew  Belt: J Crew

Dress: Target Scarf: Target Shirt: JC Penney

When I purchase things, I often try to see if I can wear it more than one way. When you shop with this thought in mind, you realize just how far one “staple” dress can go. Don’t be afraid to spend a lot * on an item that you will get a lot of use from and can style it multiple ways. Heck, I still wear khaki capris that I bought in the 7th grade. If it still looks good and is wearable, why throw it out? For investment pieces that you don’t really want to pay a lot for, try shopping them in their off season. Ex: Shop for espadrilles at the start of winter or coats in springtime.

*a relative term. Something like a $25 blazer from Forever 21 does not count.

Looking at these pictures, it seems that I do a lot of shopping at JC Penney. I interned for them this summer, so I was around their  clothing all of the time. They have great prices for quality products. In reality, most of my wardrobe consists of items from J Crew, Ralph Lauren, and Anthropologie, but unless you find them on sale, they’re not really budget friendly. The point of this post is to show you that you can in deed find stylish, good quality items that won’t break the bank.

Be like Isla Fisher in Confessions of a Shopaholic after she got out of debt…

I can do affordable fashion. I mean, I know where all the sales are. 

-Rebecca Bloomwood, Confessions of a Shopaholic

3 thoughts on “Stylenomics.

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate for those who continue this in future. A lot of other folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

