There’s something trickling down…

FALL TRENDS ARE!

There are certain things that just make me smile- some call these God-Winks. I love when I see trends hit mainstream that I have seen grow from the beginning. It makes me feel like I’m in the exact field I’m supposed to be in.

So, what exactly does it mean to “trickle down” ? Basically, these trends have made their way from couture to the masses.
For example...
-neon pants: I first saw these at J. Crew last November and loved them from the get-go. I have seen them reach the mass market- they now sell them in places like American Eagle and JC Penney for 1/3 of the price they cost at J. Crew last year.
-mens statement socks: I caught on these from David Wolfe this spring and fell for the fun nature. I searched long and hard to find my dad some (and eventually did from ASOS) but now they are more available and in a wider range of colors and patterns. I just love the way a fun pair of socks peeks out from under mens trousers.
-Peplums: This blast from the past of Christian Dior’s New Look has successfully made it from couture to college kids (and others for that matter). It has been popular on dresses, skirts, and tops, but will probably start to fade out soon.
-hi-low/mullet skirts:  Jason Wu wowed the crowd with this form of skirt for Spring 2012. I made one of these for myself early spring because I couldn’t find one that I liked. Now, however they are available in all different fabrics and colors.
Fall is basically a month away (September 22)… Can you feel it in the air? Fat chance if you’re in Texas; the heat is still upon us.  Though we may not be able to feel the cool air yet, let’s look at some of the hottest trends this fall.
DENIM: If you’ve been reading my previous blog posts, you know that I’m a huge fan of denim. It goes with anything and is so classic. It’s originally a trickle up trend…Coal miners wore jeans and then the upper class wanted them too! I’m very happy this trend is being carried into the fall. (Not that I’d stop sporting it if it “went out of style”…I really just do what I want.)  The up and coming trend for denim is to be faded and ripped. I personally don’t know if I will participate, mainly because I love my dark jeans so much and I already went through my distressed denim phase. Does that make me old? Oh well, here are some looks off the runway.
PRINTS:
          –ANIMAL SKINS: This spring at FGI career day, David Wolfe said that cheetah was out- if you wore it you were either a superstar or a slut. I refuse to believe that, as I love it, even enough to have J. Crew cheetah Cafe Capris.  He said that zebra would be in, but that’s not what I think… There’s an influx of reptile print, snake more specifically. Michael Kors was one of many who participated in this trend for 2012.
      -AZTEC/NAVAJO: This print started popping up in stores as early as last winter and was all over the Dallas Market last week. From sweaters, to mini-skirts, this print is easy to wear. I purchased this Buffalo sweater and can’t wait to sport it this fall.
      –CHEVRONS: This isn’t as big as the previous two prints, but I think it will be around long enough to be considered a fad. Rachel Bilson is one of many celebs who have been seen wearing them.
DECORATIVE COLLARS: Louis Vuitton put a beautiful Peter Pan Collar necklace on the runway earlier this year and everyone else seemed to love it.  The craze is beginning to become more mainstream and will probably hit its peak this winter. Kate Spade just came out with bedazzled PPC  on blouses and they’re sure to be a hit. I worked at the Dallas Market last week and one of the most popular blouses had a lace collar! For those who can’t purchase the higher end garments, there are collar necklaces available at every price point. My friend Rachel bought her collar necklace last spring…it’s no wonder she’s a fashion major.
Coming soon:
MENSWEAR: This makes me oh so happy. There were some girls who came into JCP this summer for bowties…for themselves. I wanted to reach across the cash wrap and hug them. You’d know this if you read this post. I love when women done menswear in a chic manor. Urban Outfitters has some manikins with bowties for girls. I’m not really sure if this will hit the masses, but the menswear influence is definitely coming.
WIDE LEGGED PANTS: no, not bell bottoms- big pants all around…kind of like long gaucho pants. These are great if you can pull them off. I’m looking for a good pair, but have yet to find some. There were quite a few pairs of these at market, which inspired me to look harder to find some! I can’t wait until these Mink Pink ones are available.
New IT color: Mint has been one of my favorite colors this season and I will definitely continue wearing it, but it’s fixing to get kicked to the curb. This fall, Oxblood- a rich, deep redish hue, is going to make a scene. Basically, Oxblood is the new mint.
GATSBY: Like it or not, movies greatly influence trends. Remember when Kate Hudson wore Uggs with mini skirts in Raising Helen? That was the beginning of the snow boot being widely popular. Sadly, The Great Gatsby release has been pushed back to the Spring, but it will definitely still influence fashion; it’s trends are probably better suited for spring anyway. (pun intended) The Dallas Market theme this August was “Gatsby Goes Modern.”  It was amazing!
On that note, I’ll end with a quote from the The Great Gatsby:
“Can’t repeat the past?… Why of course you can!”
-F. Scott Fitzgerald
After all, fashion is really just a repetition of what has already been done…
Leave a Reply

