Chicken Soup for the Retail Worker’s Soul.

                     No, I’m not going to be telling heartwarming stories about my experience in retail. Wait…do those even exist?! (Don’t worry, my sagas about this summer will be told in a later post titled something a long the lines of ‘Am I having a nightmare?! No this is real life retail.’) One thing to know about me is that I love and appreciate good food. Life is too short to eat things that you don’t like or that taste bad. *I’ll pass on that lean cuisine and diet coke*
                     Since I am manager status at my internship, I get an hour lunch instead of just the regular associate 30 minute break. That being said, I do have the option to go pickup food or  head to the food court in the mall to get a heartattack served with a side of ketchup, but I prefer not to. Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE cheeseburgers and cajun fries, but I’m not going to eat them for every meal. As my mother always said “A moment on the lips, a lifetime on the hips.”
Anyway, because  I run at least 2 miles most days, fast food really takes a toll on my workout if I eat it frequently.
                      Working retail really wears you out and can ruin your wasteline if you let it. If I stopped at Sonic every night that I had wanted to when I closed the store, then I’d be Precious material. This summer I’ve tried making things that taste good not only the day I prepare it, but will also heat up well if I take it to work for dinner.  My Pad Thai recipe (available here) is one of those that is fantastic whenever. I’ve made it a couple of times to take to work and boy are the associates in the break room jealous.
Here’s a few of the other recipes that I’ve taken to work:
Melt in Your Mouth Chicken Breast. Photo by Marg (CaymanDesigns)
mayonnaise mozzeralla chicken: this is as tasty as it is easy.
  •  boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons seasoning salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
Mix mayonnaise, cheese and seasonings. Spread mixture over chicken breast and place in baking dish.  Bake at 375°F for 45 minutes.
7 up chicken : sounds weird. tastes great.
  • chicken
  • 2 cups 7-Up
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 cup oil

In a medium bowl, mix all ingredients together. Trim Chicken and poke holes with fork. Place chicken in a 9×13 and pour marinade over top and cover. Place in fridge. Marinade 8 hours or overnight then bake for 25 minutes on 375 F

pene rosa: Since I’ve been missing Tex-Mex I often crave spicy things. This pasta gives me the kick I am missing (well as close to the salsa I’m craving as possible)
  • 12 ounces whole wheat penne
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pinch crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 medium tomatoes (about 1/2 lb.) chopped
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 4 cups fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup marinara sauce
  • 1/3 cup 0% plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese                                                                                                                                                                                                 Cook penne according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain and set aside.                                                                                    In a large skillet with a lid, heat olive oil over medium-low heat. Add in garlic and red pepper flakes, cook for 2 minutes or until garlic begins to soften.                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Add in tomatoes, salt and pepper. Cook for 5 minutes, or until mushrooms begin to release their water.                                          Remove from heat, add in spinach and cover skillet. Let spinach wilt for 2 minutes.                                                                                                                        Remove lid and place skillet back over low heat. Add the penne, Greek yogurt and pasta sauce. Stir until sauce is mixed well and all pasta and veggies are coated. Heat until just warmed through. Divide into pasta bowls and serve topped with Parmesan cheese.
I am a candy junkie but sometimes I want something different. A whole cake isn’t a good idea for me right now because I don’t have
many people to eat it. Cookies on the other hand are just right- they keep longer and are an easy sweet fix without the mess.
nutella cookies: I brought these to work and they were so high praised. I couldn’t believe how tasty these were for the little to no effort I put into making them
  • 1 Cup of flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of Nutella
  • 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.
Preheat oven to 350 F. Mix ingredients and ball up dough in 1 ” pieces. Bake for 8 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes.  This recipe make a little more than 2 dozen cookies. See? I told you it was easy.
fourth of july cookies: I took baked these for my fourth of July at the lake, but I took some to work as well. They only lasted about 15 minutes in the break room before they were gone. I just made them like the Funfetti cake cookies recipe.
  • 1 box french vanilla cake mix, 18.25 oz
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 C vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C red sprinkles
  • 1/2 C blue sprinkles
Follow the instructions on the cake box except use the listed ingredient amount for eggs, baking powder, oil, and vanilla. Mix in sprinkles then ball up dough in 1” pieces. Bake 8-10 minutes at 350 F.
“It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.” Matthew 4:4
Leave a Reply

