Living in an age of Convenience.

It’s obvious that I have taken a hiatus from blogging. Not that I haven’t been cooking, baking, sewing, and trend watching…I just haven’t felt like writing about it. I just moved to a new state. I just started a new job. I’ve been trying to get used to everything and blogging was the last thing on my list. (clearly.) All that’s familiar has been stripped away and I have been left with raw wood that is just waiting to be crafted into something good by the Master Carpenter.
Much like my desire to write diminished because I was being bombarded by other things, sometimes our walk with God experiences similarities. We continue doing what we’re doing but we don’t scratch beyond the surface. Yes. I read my Bible everyday. Yes. I pray everyday. Yes. I do my multiple devotionals  everyday.  Yes. I go to church. Yes. I help teach Sunday School. Going through the motions is easy. But even doing that you can become stagnant.
I relate my life to music both melodies and lyrics. The song that comes to mind  for this topic was one of my childhood favorites. It’s called Change by Steven Curtis Chapman. I had the casette tape and would rewind and play it constantly (90’s kid for sure).
Here’s an exerpt from the chorus:
What about the change
What about the difference
What about the grace
What about forgiveness
What about a life that’s showing
I’m undergoing the change
The part that gets people is that the word “undergoing.” If you’re undergoing a change then you’re constantly going through it. It’s not something you did. It’s something you do. 
It’s not that I stopped believing. It’s not that I stopped trusting. For a minute there I just forgot what it really means to be a follower of Christ- taking up our cross daily.Luke 9:23 says Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.  That doesn’t mean every other day or just when you feel like it… it means every single day.
This is something that is taught in Sunday school and church camps all the time, but it is so easy to lose sight of it. Just by veering off the road a little bit you can make decisions that could alter the wonderful life God planned for you. Sure you can get back on the path eventually, but going astray often leads to hurt and heartache that you could definitely live without. Trust me, I know.
It feels like just yesterday (January) that I decided to implement a life of living with open hands- letting God give and take freely. When you do this, things do hurt as badly when they’re taken from you because you put them in God’s hands in the first place. He gives and He takes away, but your heart can still say “Blessed be The name.” I hadn’t forgotten that either- I just forgot what it felt like to go deeper consistently. God takes our struggles and turns them into good things but only if you let him. If you keep holding onto them ,then He can’t do what He really wants to do and you’re stuck with the sin that you’re desperatley trying to get rid of.
You must surrender daily. Remind yourself of the nails and the cross. That’s the reason we’re living.
Living in a fast pace world it’s easy to put things on the “at your conveinece” list. Living fully for God shouldn’t be one of them.
If  you don’t do it know, then when?
Leave a Reply

