The White Picket Fence in Which I Live: a glimpse at my junior year of college.

Another school year is through and my GPA has survived another semester.

Though this was my toughest year of college thus far, it was also my happiest.

Since I first came to Baylor my life has done many 180s; each year brings new struggles, but also newfangled joy.

About a year ago I implemented a new way of living…living life with open hands.

Human nature leads us to take control of our lives and hold tight to our mortal desires. Proverbs 16:9 states that “In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.” God has an inherently better plan than I ever could imagine, so better to start out with the notion that life is fleeting than to stay hung up on things that are not part of that grand plan. In short, don’t sweat the petty things and don’t pet the sweaty things. As long as you are doing what you’re supposed to, then God’s plan will unveil itself as planned.

One of the troubles I experienced this semester was my Finance class. I constantly struggled with it no matter how much I studied. By the end of it, I barely passed the class, but at that point I was praying for a C! So though I made my first C this semester, what I learned was that in the big scheme of things it doesn’t matter. I did my best and by golly I can calculate the Present Value  and Future Value of money! In my parents’ words I took that grade and ran…no looking back!

In addition to the business Finance class I took, I also was enrolled in Individual and Family Financial Management which happened to use the same book. It was challenging, but not in the same aspect as the previous course. This class showed me how truly blessed I am. Until this course, I was ignorant to many financial items of the regular world. I’ve never had to worry about bills, paying a mortgage, or wondering if I had enough money for food. Heck, I don’t even know how to log onto my debit card account to see how much money is left. One assignment I had was to document my spendings for 6 weeks. I then had to write a paper on what I spent my money on. It was really eye opening to see what I spent on average per week. It also caused me to do things like buy gas from the cheaper station or look for the less expensive food item. Even more eye opening was a family project I had to do. Along with other students in my group, I had to use a family simulator and buy things for it like insurance, as well as make major financial decisions. I never realized how many calculations and thoughts had to go into living. One could say that I’ve lived in a white picket fence and haven’t had to worry about such things…

One thing that brought joy to my life was where I lived and who I lived with. The people you surround yourself with affect how your life is and I’m happy to say that they brought joy to my life. My friends in general have blessed me immensely. Due to early graduations and studying abroad, there will never be another time where we’ll be together at Baylor again.

Another melancholy subject is the loss of the house I lived in this year. Though the thoughts of these things cause sadness, I know that it will all be okay. It always is.

This semester I was able to do my dream job and design shirts for my chapter of Tri Delta. One of my best friends got engaged. I’m one semester away from getting my diploma. I live with the sweetest dog in the world. I have a huge support group within my friends. My sister is graduating from high school. I scored an amazing internship for the summer. I swam with dolphins. The list could go on and on.

Overall this year at Baylor was a good fantastic one. Sure, there were road bumps here and there, but what’s life without those? There are way too many things to be happy about than to let bad things keep you from living the life you were meant to.

Illegitimi non carborundum

One thought on “The White Picket Fence in Which I Live: a glimpse at my junior year of college.

Leave a Reply

