Trend Alert Part 1:Snippets of Spring

I am an Audrey Hepburn kind of girl.

I tend to reach for classics over trendy pieces.

(p.s. Audrey Hepburn’s birthday is next week, May 4th. She would have been 83.)

Though I don’t always participate in trends, I do like spotting them.

The most recent one I have noted is in the men’s department.

I don’t normall follow them, as I tend to just deal with womenswear, but this one was hard not to spot. literally.

Colored Socks.

 I had seen them before, but when I saw David Wolfe wearing red socks while at Fashion Group International’s career day, I knew a pop of color shown at the ankle would eventually be popular. They’re hard to see in this picture, but trust me, they’re there and adorable as ever.

After having just taken an Economics and Finance test, I was wearily leaving the Hankamer Business School at Baylor. I was taken off guard when I noticed a glimmer of purple. There was a guy who was wearing slacks and a dress shirt…but sporting purple socks. I really wanted to ask him if I could take a picture for my blog, but he looked like he was studying and I didn’t want to bother him. Don’t worry, I got a picture– I just waited until I was in the parking garage and people could awkwardly see me snapping paparazzi shots of a random student.

Sorry it’s kind of a monster picture, but since I wasn’t that close, I had to make it this large. But see? I think the socks are great.

You know who else is into socks? Rob Kardashian. Watch this video about his passion for socks. He is launching a brand called “Just Socks,” where he will sell…just socks. Who’d a thought? They look pretty cool to me- If I were a boy (cue Beyonce) I’d wear them.

Even J. Crew is talking about socks.

Be sure to look for more pops of color in the men’s sock department. Sorry, Dad- your classic Gold Toe socks are great, but there’s a new kid in town, and it’s going to make a bold statement.

The main trends for girls that I’ve  noticed are in the accessories department.

First up, EmiJay Hair Accessories.

Let’s just say they were featured by Oprah in 2009 and once Oprah gets a hold of you, you’re golden.

It’s taken a while for them to catch on, but now they’re rampant. Celebrities like Jennifer Aniston and SJP wear them, and so do women across the nation, including girls at Baylor. Honestly, I have never tried them because I have a massive head of hair and I’m not sure it would support my ponytail. Most of the time I wear my hair down- if it’s ponied up, it’s probably because I was in a rush. I will admit that they are cute and don’t dent your hair.

 

They come in an array of sizes and colors and seem to work great.

Nepal Roll On Bracelets.

Fair Trade is something that has been growing in popularity, which is definitely a good thing. These bracelets have given the women of Nepal another option to everyday life. Read more about it here.

I really like these bracelets because they’re supporting a cause that is bigger than ourselves, not to mention they can accentuate any outifit. They aren’t a national trend, but I think will be soon, as the fair trade concept is catching on. Girls at Baylor LOVE them and pile them on with almost every outfit. You can buy them at Roots 201 Boutique in Waco. They are also popular in Fayetteville, Arkansas. I follow a blog by a boutique there called Riffraff and they sell them as well. You should also check out what they sell, because it’s pretty darn cute.

These bracelets have proven that accessories can not only be fashionable, but good for the world.

Remember my post about large framed glassesWell, I got some.

 Like them? I do.

If you can’t get enough of trends and want to see great talent, come to the Baylor Fashion Show this Saturday!

It is in Barfield Drawing Room at Baylor at either 2:00 pm for $10 or 7:00 pm for $15. Tickets can be purchased at the door or at the ticket office, located in the SUB.

I am in the visual merchandising class that is putting on the show, and will also be walking in it.

If you can’t go, obviously I will post pictures!

Have a trendy Wednesday!

p.s. In case you’re not up to par on your movie quotes, here’s one from Miss Congeniality that is relevant to today since it’s April 25th:)

2 thoughts on “Trend Alert Part 1:Snippets of Spring

  1. Pingback: Trend Alert Part 2: Ring By Spring. « Epicuriously Living

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord of Style. « Epicuriously Living

Leave a Reply

