‘Merica.

My life has been overtaken with Baylor University’s All University Sing, but now that it is over, I can finally share this post!

My time away was well worth it, because my act with Delta Delta Delta and Alpha Tau Omega got an invitation to Pigskin Review next fall and won third place.

We were Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts in an act called Adventure is Out There.

I decided to write this post a while ago, before the State of the Union Address, but since it correlates with it, I thought I’d tie it in. One of the things Obama said he’d like to do is bring manufacturing back to the U.S. While this is a wonderful idea, I don’t think the American people are ready for that. We live in a world where girls have been trained to pay $5 for a “cute top” at Forever 21…They don’t want to pay more.

I have Tri Delta New Member Dance this weekend, and our theme is famous couples. Since I’m a ginger, I just had to be Ariel- my date is going to be Poseidon.  Now, I’m not going to wear an actual mermaidesque outfit, so I did what I hate and ventured to the dreaded Forever 21 to purchase something cheap and make it into something Little Mermaidish. This is what I came up with.

I bought two dresses and combined them for less than $20 thanks to clothing manufacturers overseas.

Let’s face the reality…less than 5% of the clothing we sell is made in America, and what is made in the USA is deemed more expensive and not worth the price tag.

I had a recent conversation with my friend Warren about an expensive belt. I tried to make an excuse for the $200 price tag, but the fact that it was USA born and raised didn’t really matter. While people say they have pride in what the USA does, I don’t think they realize how much it would actually change their spending habits if we had more manufacturers on our ground.

Now, don’t think that I’m negating what Obama said- I’m totally for it. After seeing first hand the dilapidation of the garment district in NY this past summer- an area which used to house a number of jobs and factories- almost empty, it would give me great joy to see it up and running again.

Here are some of my favorite brands that are known for being 100% USA produced.

Kiel James Patrick

“To reach a port we must sail, sometimes with the wind, and sometimes against it. But we must not drift or lie at anchor.”

I could sit for hours and just flip through the pages of his website. He started out making bracelets, and now has a collection of anything from headbands to bow ties. I recently bought this bracelet and lovelovelove it. KJP is the perfect combination of seaside merriment and prepster chic.

Tru Colors

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Amy Chenevert, the creator and owner of Tru Colors. She spoke to a group of Baylor students in Austin, Texas, at a local Saks Fifth Avenue- one of the places that carries her line. She has a unique concept of focusing on colors of Colleges and Universities, rather than the actual artwork. A fashion merchandising major from LSU, she has done extremely well for herself and has an amazing line that would look great on almost any age- current collegiate or alum.

Tipsy Skipper

I’m a sucker for a good pair of flats, and this is definitely one of the places to find such an item. Kearsley Lloyd, the owner, is a descendant of Captain Morgan. She uses lots of fun prints and vibrant colors. Having graduated from RISD and completed internships with Vineyard Vines and Lilly Pulitzer, it is no wonder she is so talented.

I believe there’s a song for everything…This post’s song is Made in America, by Toby Kieth.

Besides the fact that the song’s main character isn’t happy because we’re wearing cotton we didn’t grow, my favorite part is the following line

“Spend a little more in the store for a tag in the back that says ‘USA'”

So do just that…take pride in your country and its resources.

p.s. if you haven’t been keeping up with the latest fashion, here’s some little tidbits.

Pointy toe shoes are coming back in.

Here’s the best looks at the Oscars.

Will Kate Middleton choose your shoe?

JC Penney’s has wonderful, new ideas and commercials.

I can’t wait to intern for JCP this summer in Little Rock, Arkansas.

On that note…

Only SEVENTY days until my last real summer ever!

7 thoughts on “‘Merica.

  1. Fantastic web site in this article! Additionally your site instead a whole lot way up quick! Just what sponsor have you been the usage of? Can one am having your connect hyperlink on your variety? I desire my website jam-packed as quickly since the one you have : )

  2. hey lauren! just wanted to say how much I love your blog. been following it since your second or third post. reading it keeps me company after those late night feedings with dan. keep it up!

  3. Pingback: Top Knots are Top Notch. « Epicuriously Living

Leave a Reply

