Don’t Forget to Eat Your Black-Eyed Peas.

Reflecting on 2011, I realized there were quite a few firsts that I had experienced.

This past year, for the first time I…

– got stung by a bee

-ran more than 3 miles at once

– started ordering pickles and onion on my cheeseburger

-embraced the high waistline trend with full force

-expanded my O.P.I. nail polish collection to more than just pinks and reds

-Pulled an all nighter for school purposes

-changed the name of Elle’s Originals to Southern Elle

-Started a new decade in my life (turned 20)

-lived with a dog, and 3 wonderful roommates for that matter

-began sewing beaux ties and scarves along with dresses and other clothing

-got a 3rd degree burn

-went to Canada

-started blogging

-RG III won the first Heisman for Baylor and won the Alamo Bowl!

Sic ’em.

Whenever I think of the New Year, one of the first songs that come to mind (besides Auld Lang Syne, of course)  is, The New Year by Death Cab for Cutie.  YAY, songs from 2003- accompanying that DCFC classic, some other top songs from that year were Hey Yah, I am Beautiful, Swing Swing, and Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous. Twas a good year for the music biz, but so glad I’m no longer 12…

And last but not least, one of my favorite things about the New Year is that Pantone releases the new color of the year. Last year it was honeysuckle (a coral), this year it is Tango Tangerine…a fierce orange. I was excited, because one of the new shirts I got falls perfectly in that catagory. Thanks, J. Crew for being on trend.

I also found that I purchased a dress last November that incorporates the vivid tangerine color.

I’m excited for 2012 for many reasons…only 3 semesters left at the great Baylor University, visiting Mexico and going on a cruise for the first time, movies like The Hunger Games, The Great Gatsby, and The Vow being released(and maybe I’m excited for the part II of Twilight as well…), and of course, simply the start of a new year…

I couldn’t leave you without something sweet, so here’s your last treat of 2011:

Cookie Dough Bites!

These are as easy as you make them be. You can use premade dough such as:

Or you can make it using the following recipe. Either way, they will be delicious.

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 4 to 6 tbsp. water

Cream together the butter and sugar in a large bowl. Stir in the flour, salt, vanilla and chips. Add the water, one tablespoon at a time, until you have reached a cookie dough consistency. Makes 2 cups.

Using a melon baller, scoop as many dough balls as you’d like to have. Place them in the freezer for at least 15 minutes, so they can harden.

Melt 8 oz (or more, depending on how many you make. That will cover about 2 dozen) of dark chocolate chips, then, with a spoon, dip the balls into the chocolate, covering them completely. Place on a wax covered surface. Once all are dipped, place them in the freezer for 30 minutes and enjoy! Store in the refrigerator.

Happy New Year! I hope you eat your black eyed peas like a good, little Southerner!

One thought on “Don’t Forget to Eat Your Black-Eyed Peas.

Leave a Reply

