Faux Pas.

Autumn has fallen upon us, which means, in Texas at least, it’s a confusion of the seasons.

Today it is a lovely 77 degrees and overcast outside, but  don’t you fret, tomorrow the sun will be back out in all of its ferocity and it will be 97 degrees.

Since most of what I do deals with the apparel industry, I cannot help but  be clothing minded. Though Baylor is an outstanding campus to be a part of, there are some garment choices that still make my head turn.

For example, the other day I saw a couple leisurely strolling in matching HCO shirts (I have to give my friend Kim photo cred for this shot…as fashion majors we’re always on the lookout)…I prefer think that they were visiting high school students who were considering Baylor. ..The girl behind them is strengthening the well known stereotype of classy Baylor girls. Thanks and sic ’em.

Anyway, since the weather makes it hard to actually dress for fall, it is an even worse time for a person who is especially sensitive about clothing choices…aka all my friends and me.

Today as I was leaving my Political Science class, which ruins my morning enough as it is, I spotted a girl sporting her sweater Uggs… it feels wonderful outside, and while Uggs were made to wear year round (yes. yes, they are. if you don’t believe me check here.), it just isn’t time to wear them yet. It’s tough, I know. I’ve had  a couple of “I just want to wear leggings and slip on my Uggs” days, but I’ve resisted…though I do applaud her for wearing cream instead of white, which leads me to my next fashion complaint.

I mentioned it here, but I’m going to say it again. Though many don’t see wearing white in the winter (say that three times fast…)as an issue, I still abide by the old Southern rule of “No white after Labor Day or until Easter.” I’m okay with winter white or cream, but stark white in the winter just doesn’t belong, unless it’s snow.

Most of the time I keep my critiques to myself and dream of a What Not To Wear: College Edition, but today y’all  get to see a little of my thought process.

Onto happier thoughts of why I enjoy this season… though I enjoy a good, hot summer day, it gets monotonous after a while, and I’m thankful for the change in season. God was clearly smart when he created the seasons. Here are some of my favorite seasonal items:

1)Riding Boots. I adore boots. In the summer I typically wear cowboy boots, but I love when I can wear my riding boots accompanied with tall sox and a smile.

2)Heavy Scarves. Summer scarves are great, but I enjoy looping scarves and using them to keep warm…plus in Texas summers, scarves aren’t really needed…I’m currently on the hunt for the perfect floral scarf.

3)Winter Hats. I’m a huge fan of floppy, summer hats, but I like berets and cloches in the winter. A lot.

4)Hot Chocolate. Did you think I could leave this off?? I have my cupboard stocked with Dark Chocolate Sensations Cocoa.

Bring on the season.

10 thoughts on “Faux Pas.

  1. Lauren, I didn’t know you had a blog! I LOVE it!! I’ve just been scrolling and scrolling. lol
    I will definitely be reading! And btw, I love that you’re an actual fashion designer. There’s nothing better than seeing people tap into their creativity. So cool!

  2. I’m often to blogging and i actually admire your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new information.

  3. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

  4. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  5. Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  6. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  7. Pingback: rembrandt whitening

Leave a Reply

