Made with Love.

Take a look at what I’ve been spending my free time on, and you’ll soon realize that I enjoy making things.  Feast your eyes on my latest creations.

Confections.

Cherry Chocolate Brownies. These are from the kitchen of the mother of my friend, Kaitlynn. Whenever I would go over to her house, we always had  wonderful food (especially dessert) and these are one of my all time favorites that she baked.

2 pkgs. (10.25 oz pouch, not box) Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie Mix

½ cup vegetable oil

4 tablespoons (maraschino cherry juice)

2 eggs

jar of maraschino cherries (cut each cherry into eighths)

1 cup chocolate chips

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease bottom only 9x 13 cake pan.

Stir brownie mix, oil , cherry juice and eggs with spoon until

blended. Stir in cut up cherries and chocolate chips. Spread in pan.

Bake 26 to 28 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out

almost clean: cool.

Cherry Fudge Frosting

1 cup chocolate chips

2 tablespoons butter

3 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup maraschino cherry juice

Heat chocolate chips and margarine over low heat, stirring constantly,

until chocolate is melted. Beat in powdered sugar and cherry juice until

frosting is smooth and spreading consistency.

Spread frosting on top of cooled brownies.

Snickerdoodles.

1 cup butter

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 3.4 cups flour

2 tsp cream of tartar

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3 TBS sugar

3 TBS cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350°F. Mix butter, sugar, and eggs then combine flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt. Chill dough and ungreased cookie sheet for 10-15 minutes. Combine sugar and cinnamon, then roll 1 inch globs of dough into the mixture. Bake for 10 minutes, then let cool.

Crafts.

Life size Scrabble tiles. I thoroughly enjoy word games, such as Bananagrams, but more specifically Scrabble. My Aunt Dana really likes Scrabble too, so I decided to make her Scrabble tiles spelling Spann.

My dad cut the 8×8 squares for me, then I painted the letters and numbers with regular acrylic paint, then sprayed them with a clear finish.

Boy-Girl Mugs. I just woke up this morning and said to myself “I’m going to paint mugs today and they’re going to be cute.” I feel like Kate Spade would sell them. Well maybe a mix of Kate Spade and Urban Outfitters.

I had to put clever sayings on them; I just had to.

I convinced my sister act them out with me…I made her be the boy, because she’s always the boy. It’s a rule. Just like Helen Keller always wins in Apples to Apples.

Clothing.

Tube top with floral flounce. I was buying fabric to make gameday dresses, and I found this floral fabric and I had to get it, so I coupled it with a cream jersey knit that I found and this top is what came of it.

Gameday dresses. It’s that time of year again: Football season. And along with that, comes a myriad of dresses and late nights finishing them…but I love it.

TCU.

OSU.

On a totally different note, what would a post be without my random interjections and find?  So…here you go:

-Having just gotten back from a morning run, I am so glad to find this out. I have always thought that some of my best runs were after I had eaten dark chocolate…my friend, Lauren, introduced me into having a spoonful of peanut butter before running that seems to have the same effects for me as well.

-I’m also very glad  to learn this. And if you know me at all, you know why. hint: Spanndex, Majestic etc.

-There has been a lot of hullabaloo (pun) about a certain collegiate teamthis is an interesting spin on it, which I like, for obvious reasons.

-I lovelovelove Kate Spade’s top 10 must haves.

-I love burgers, as well as the topic of this article.

Being nice and attentive goes a long way.

On that note, I am going to gorge myself on dark chocolate and watch Law and Order SVU marathons while I dread the starts of classes next Monday.

Back to school, back to school…

One thought on “Made with Love.

  1. Pingback: Dessert is Stressed Spelled Backwards. | Epicuriously Living

Leave a Reply

