Birthday Things.

As I promised, here are  a couple of the tasty things I had this week.

An Edible Arrangement.

The morning of my birthday, I woke up to these beautiful, golden roses with dusty pink edges. Sure, you can’t really eat them, but you can smell them. Same difference.

Cherry Chocolate Cupcakes. Make these. You know you want to. One of my friends just tweeted that he ate one for breakfast this morning. They are good morning, noon, and night.

Preheat at 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients, then bake for 20-25 minutes.

4 eggs

3 cups of flour

2 cups of sugar

1 cup of butter

4 TBS cocoa powder

½ cup of chocolate chips melted

3/4 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

¼ cup of cherry juice

Cherry Chocolate Buttercream Frosting.

Have all the ingredients at room temperature. 

Melt chocolate on low, on stove top, constantly stirring as not to burn it.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the flat beater, combine the confectioners’ sugar, butter, the 6 Tbs. milk, the vanilla and salt and beat on low speed until combined, about 1 minute. Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl. Increase the speed to medium and beat for 2 minutes, then reduce the speed to low. Add the rest of the ingredients and beat until combined, then increase the speed to medium and beat for 1 minute more. Garnish each cupcake with a cherry.


4 oz german chocolate

2 oz semi-sweet chocolate

6 cups confectioners’ sugar

2 sticks of unsalted butter

6 Tbs. milk

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 tsp. salt

1/3 cup of cherry juice

Cherries for garnish

To those of you who are worried that I baked my own birthday cupcakes, such as my roommate, Hannah, never fear…my mom baked them for me with love.

Sparkeling Strawberry Lemonade. Yes, it sparkles like Edward Cullen in the sun. What makes it do so? Only the official drink of Redheads…

Combine all ingredients in a blender, and mix until the strawberries are pulp. Either serve over ice or freeze for 4-5 hours, then enjoy it frozen.

5 cups of Ginger Ale

1 cup of water

1 can of frozen lemonade concentrate

10-15 strawberries frozen or thawed

Birthday Books. The popular gift to get me this year was a book, which is great, because I love books. Like I don’t think you understand. I could spend hours in a bookstore. I believe that you can tell a lot about a person by the books that they read. Here’s a look at the books that I received.

Redheads. First thing about me that you’ve learned from this book: I am a ginger.

Please notice, the back of the book: “An exploration of the soul of a redhead…” Perhaps South Park was wrong…

True Prep: It’s a whole new world. Second thing about me that you’ve learned from this book: I am somewhat of a prep. Classic. p.s. My roommate, Megan, gave me this, along with a birthday power point that rocked my socks off.

Cupcake.  Third thing about me that you’ve learned from this book:I like cupcakes.

The Cat’s Pajamas: 101 of the cutest cats. Fourth thing about me that you’ve learned from this book: I like cats and cuddling.

Cocktail Conversation: Here’s more random things that I find very interesting.

Apparently you can die from receiving a hickey. Who knew?

This is proof that the world is vain. (I bet you think this song is about you, about youuu.)

I still love Mary-Kate and Ashley and I’m not ashamed.

Watch this video of Matt Damon. It makes me like him even more.

I’m excited to see Kim Kardashian’s wedding dress done by this designer.

Music you should listen to. These have been on repeat this week.

Cameron Mitchell, off of The Glee Project, has a voice that melts like butter…and he is from Texas. I love his version of Elton John’s Your Song. He also does a pretty good version of Blackbird by the Beatles.

Also on my playlist this week have been:

First Day of My Life by Bright Eyes

Jumper by Third Eye Blind

After the Storm by Mumford and Sons

Dancing Shoes by Gavin DeGraw (Not to be confused with GRO’s Dancing Shoes, though that’s a good one too.)

I’ll leave you with a quote from Peanuts by Lucy, that not only pertains to my life, because I enjoy chocolate, but also because my roommate, Hannah, just got a chocolate lab puppy named July. She is the newest member of The Nook (the name of our duplex) and all of my roommates are excited about her. Isn’t she precious?

“All I really need is love, but a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt!””

3 thoughts on “Birthday Things.

Leave a Reply

