Lately.

It’s been awhile since I posted, but it isn’t because I didn’t want to. I’ve been…busy. But, perhaps humans just use the word “busy” as an excuse to make themselves feel better, after they don’t accomplish a certain task. They were “busy” or “didn’t have time.” But aren’t you the one who decides what you spend your time on and who fills up your life? One of my [many] mottos is something along the lines of “you make time for the people and things that matter most.” (This is filed in my brain right next to one of my mother’s life sayings: “Never give up an opportunity to go to the bathroom or receive extra credit.”)  So here’s what I have been filling my life with.

My 8 am jogging class has started. We run in the blistering Texas heat (though  the park we jog in is quite pretty.) Did I mention that it was at 8 am?

This is my dolphin watch, which I wear running. Jealous?

My American Literature class has also commenced. Besides having my interpretation of one of my favorite Robert Frost poems torn to shreds, I have enjoyed reading E.E. Cummings the most. My favorite one thus far would have to be this one. I’m cliche, I know. But, I enjoy all of Cummings work; I love his use of punctuation and form.

Sewing Dresses. One of my favorite pastimes…I was so happy to add some new dresses to my Elle’s Originals facebook page.

I added another SFA dress to my collection.

AND a Zeta Tau Alpha dress to my sorority collection.

Overdosing on aloe vera  because of a lovely sunburn I received last weekend on the lake.

I’ve also been stumbling upon articles and items such as these…

I’m sorry but happy people just don’t shoot their husbands. Thanks for that quote, Elle Woods.

What? You wouldn’t  buy a baby from a lady at Taco Bell?

Click on the July 2011 magazine on the left and read how TCU shows it is better than all other Texas universities by tweaking information in their favor.

Thank you Fashionista.com for naming Baylor one of top 20 fashion programs in the country!

You should definitively watch  this video and like it here. My friend Zara’s brother produced it and the cover is in the top 10 for the Eli Young Band Cover contest.

My wonderful roommate and friend, Megan, had a birthday this week and so I baked for her. Keep in mind she is obsessed with porcupines, hence the porcupine atop the cupcake.

I made muffins,

Chocolate covered gummy bears,

Chocolate chip coffee cupcakes dusted with oreos, and a brazil nut porcupine.

Cupcake Batter: Combine all ingredients except chocolate chips. After mixing thoroughly, fold in chocolate chips.

4 eggs

3 cups of flour

2 cups of sugar

1 cup of butter

1 cup of milk

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp instant coffee granuals

4 TBS cocoa powder

1 cup chocolate chips

Frosting: Melt butter on low, in a saucepan. Take off heat, then add vanilla and milk, then mix on a low speed. Mix in powdered sugar and cocoa. Crush oreos and dust the top while frosting is still wet.

1 stick of butter

5 TBS cocoa powder

1 lb powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup of milk

Desired amount of oreos.

Topping: Poke eyes, or use a sharpie to draw dots on brazil nut. Dip the fatter side into frosting, the dip in the sprinkles and place on the top of the cupcake using frosting.

Brazil nuts

Chocolate jimmies

Now that I’ve had a wonderful weekend in Waco, I now have to start studying for midterms that are tomorrow. I cannot contain my excitement.

Leave a Reply

