Current Obsessions.

If you haven’t noticed, feathers have been popping up in all kinds of fashion…prints, jewelry, and the most popular: hair feathers. Girls all over the place have been paying anywhere from $10 to $40 for these little feather extensions clipped into their hair, depending on how many they want.  This is intriguing to me, because I saw these rise to popularity in Austin and Waco, Texas last fall and when I came back to the DFW area for summer, girls were just then going crazy over them. They are definitely the “silly bandz” of this summer. Of course, I’ve been taught that trends often catch on slowly, then spread to surrounding cities, but it didn’t really click until I actually witnessed it. When I came home, I was over the feather craze; it was like everyone around me was behind the times. Well, to be honest,I never got one, so I guess I was never part of the craze, though I do think the some people pull them off very nicely. The whole point of saying this, is that I’ve noticed another trend that I’m sure is to be the next craze.

When I was in Canada I observed that people dyed their hair crazy colors. I’m not just talking about 1 or 2; I’m mean I’d see 20+ people daily that had brightly colored hair. I saw this in New York, too, but not as many. Some had dyed their whole head, some had streaks, some just dyed the under layer, and some just did their tips…The latter being the up and coming trend. The last time I remember colored hair being very popular was when Avril Lavigne got pink streaks in her hair for her “Girlfriend” video.  Practically everyone at my school got colored streaks, well everyone except for me; however, I did get a purple hair extension that I could put in and take out as I pleased …Anyway, a trend tends to take off once a celebrity does it… (Steven Tyler is one celeb who wore hair feathers.) The other day, Lauren Conrad tweeted that she had dip dyed her hair. (Here’s how to do it.) Also, Fashionista.com confirmed my thoughts by predicting that colored hair, more specifically dip dyed hair, be the next big thing. lauren-conrad-rainbow-hair.jpg

It is fun, but I wouldn’t do it. Then again, I’m a natural redhead, and any smart ginger knows not to dye or color their hair; however, I do have friends that color their hair. There are two Sarah’s who I’m close too. We’ll call one “diet coke drinking” Sarah, and  the other “eclectic” Sarah. Eclectic Sarah is a fun person (not that diet coke drinking Sarah isn’t), and her hair normally matches her personality; but, as you can see in the picture below, she is without a random color in her hair. For me this is surprising!  It wasn’t unusual for me to go over to her house or see her in class with another color in her hair every so often. To see her now without any, all I can do is think of a new color for her. (My vote is turquoise .) 

Did I mention she does amazing makeup, as well as color her hair cool?

In this pic, you can kind of see her maroon ends.

One of the perks of being a fashion major, is having friends that are in-style. Thank you, Sarah, for living up to that standard.

Another person who is trying to  bring a trend back, is Kate Middleton. (Also, since royals don’t use last names, when is everyone going to drop “Middleton…?”)I consider her a very chic woman, but I don’t know if I agree with her on this one…What is it you may ask? Flesh colored pantyhose. My mother made me wear pantyhose to church until I was in 7th grade, and unless I’m forced or see the need, I do not plan on wearing them again. If this trend does catch on, then she will single- handedly save the  dying industry of pantyhose, which Spanx seem to have taken over.

Summertime has seemingly taken over my body and put it in chill mode. I have ample time to find new things or be reminded of things that I enjoy. Here’s an enumeration of my current obsessions…

Sour Patch Watermelons. If I’m not careful, I will eat the whole bag. I enjoy Sour Patch Kids, but those burn my tongue if I eat too many; however, these don’t.

 Law and Order Marathons. I’ll watch any kind of LAO, but my favorite is Special Victims Unit. I love when a problem gets solved and the good guys win.

Pull and Peel Twizzlers. Pull and peel. What’s not to love?

This BCBG dress. It’s classic, black, and has a sweetheart neckline, basically the perfect little, black dress. If you don’t like this dress, then re-read the previous sentence until you do like it.

Mini Twix Ice Cream Bars. These are the perfect sized little ice cream bars. They can satiate my colossal sweet tooth without ruining my workout.

Fedoras (and my sister.) The perfect, summer accessory to any outfit.

Rice Cakes With Peanut butter. My “diet coke drinking Sarah” introduced me to these and I have been hooked ever since.

American Eagle Vintage Campus Collection.  BAYLOR is one of the schools that they have, and no one ever prints BU shirts because they don’t let just anyone have the rights, plus licensing comes with a pretty price. Nevertheless, go AE!

As Mason Cooley said, “The cure for an obsession: get another one. ” I’d better go do that before I spend all the money in my bank account or eat my way out the new clothes I just bought…

3 thoughts on “Current Obsessions.

  1. Pingback: F stands for… « Epicuriously Living

Leave a Reply

