A Novel Idea…

I have a thing for linen, especially beautifully colored linen. I recently made these.

The dress is most recent and is quite possibly my favorite thing I have made.

If you want to see more of my creations, view them HERE.  “Like” the page if you feel inclined… Do what you want to do. It’s your life.

Anyway…back on topic (I’ll stop trying to insert songs, because they fit with my words. Though I do believe there is a song for everything…) So, about fashion…I leave for my trip TOMORROW.

This is the required reading. It is interesting…better than any old textbook.

The only weird thing is that the writer, Mark Tungate, is not in the fashion industry, so he makes a couple blips. For instance, he states that Coco Chanel did not like jewelry.

Mr. Tungate, please look at this picture of her and tell me again that the woman didn’t enjoy a good piece of jewery…

I have read many fashion books, but only own a few. Here are some of my favorites that I have in my possession.

Fashion Illustration by Fashion Designers

Written by Laird Borrelli

The Towering World of Jimmy Choo

Written by Lauren Goldstein Crowe and Sagra Maceira de Rosen

The Fairchild Dictionary of Fashion

Written by Charlotte Mankey Calasibetta and Phyllis G. Tortora

The End of Fashion: How Marketing Changed the Clothing Business Forever

Written by Teri Agins

Style

Written by Kate Spade

They’re all good books, but my favorite is Style by Kate Spade. She is just so chic and stylish; I thoroughly enjoy her work. There are so many good fashion books, you just have to find them, then find time to enjoy them. The best ones are often the ones you didn’t intend to find. Occasionally my friends and I will spend time in a myriad of bookstores, searching for the perfect read. Of course, mine tend to end up as fashion or style stories. What can I say? I enjoy it!

Happy fashioning!

One thought on “A Novel Idea…

  1. Pingback: A Food and Fashion Frenzy. « Epicuriously Living

Leave a Reply

