Confessions of a Nail Polish-aholic

You can never have too many shades of O.P.I red nail polish; that’s my theory. Much to my dad’s dismay, I have developed a love for nail polish from my mother. Here’s proof. (This is the shared nail polish between my mom, me, and my sister at home.)

At almost $10 a bottle, it’s funny to think that we have a small fortune invested in colored liquid in a bottle that is for your nails…

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a good mani-pedi…in fact I just had one last week. BUT I feel that most of the time I can do just as good, if not better than the manicurist, plus I feel like mine last longer. I suggest always starting out with a base coat. I prefer O.P.I. Natural Nail Basecoat. Two coats of color is the norm for me, then I do two top coats for extra gloss. First I use O.P.I. topcoat, then Seche Vite because it is rapid dry. If I’m in a hurry, I just use Seche Vite topcoat because it is that good.

Back to the colors…because that’s my favorite part. Here is the small  collection I keep with me in Waco.

(From left to right: Vodka and Caviar, O.P.I. Red, Perfectly Red, I’m Suzi and I’m a Chocoholic, Bastille My Heart, Mrs. Oleary’s Barbecue, Luovre Me, Louvre Me Not, Miami Beet, Do You Think I’m Tex-y, California Raspberry, To Hot Pink To Hold ‘Em, Koala Berry, My Chihuahua Bites, Guy Meets Gal-veston, Party In My Cabana, Isn’t That Precious)

My obsession runs so thick that I once told my friend what color nail polish she was wearing. Fun times…It was Koala Berry. Good color; good choice.

This is  probably my favorite red of all time. It’s called Vodka and Caviar. It always seems to have the perfect shade, tone, and red color.

If I had to choose a nail polish based upon color and name, it would have to be this one. I’m Suzi and I’m a Chocoholic is a red with brown undertones. It is a wonderful variation of the traditional red.

Even though I am a Baylor girl, I cannot help but be jealous of the Aggie’s maroon. I love maroon. I also love this maroon nail polish. Mrs. Oleary’s Barbecue perfect for a dark, but classic nail polish…or an Aggie game.

(From left to right: Vodka and Caviar, I’m Suzi and I’m a Chocoholic, and Mrs. Oleary’s Barbecue)

My favorite line from O.P.I. right now is their Texas line. (I know, a HUGE surprise, right?!) I own 3 of the 12. If you want to view the whole line, go to their website, select Nail Color tab, then click Texas.

The ones I have are Guy Meets Gal-veston, Do You Think I’m Tex-y, and Too Hot Pink To Hold ‘Em. These are great colors, but definitely need two coats if you’re going for full color. They are kind of translucent and don’t cover all of the nail with color if not done twice. All the same, I love them! My only question and concern is why isn’t there a color named after Dallas...

One thought on “Confessions of a Nail Polish-aholic

  1. Pingback: New things. « Epicuriously Living

Leave a Reply

