Listen to your mother.

“I could always hear my mother’s voice saying ‘Be on time,’ and ‘Remember to think of others first,’ and ‘Don’t talk a lot about yourself. You are not interesting. It’s the others that matter.’”-Audrey Hepburn

In honor of Mother’s Day, here is a picture of my mom at Mother’s Day lunch at Celebration, a restaurant on W. Lovers Lane in Dallas.

She taught me and my sister how to laugh and love.

She also taught us to be stylish.

Speaking of stylish, one of my favorite ladies (besides my mom) and probably THE style icon in my book, is Audrey Hepburn. She spoke highly of her mother as well. She attributed her outlook on life to her. In Audrey’s life, “It was frowned upon not to think of others first. It was frowned upon not to be disciplined.” Her mother, Baroness Ella van Heemstra Hepburn-Ruston must have been a wonderful lady, because Audrey was one was the classiest women to grace the world with her presence.

If you can’t tell from the preceding paragraph, I think very highly of Audrey Hepburn and am a bit obsessed.

Here’s a corner of my bedroom that is basically devoted to her. The canvas says my favorite Audrey Hepburn quote: “For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone. People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed & redeemed; never throw out anyone. “

Here’s a paper I wrote about her in my History of Dress class. It written was over this picture.

Here’s my new, favorite book. It happens to be about her.

Here I am reading it. Two of my favorite things: Audrey and sunshine.

Oh, and these sunglasses make me feel like her in this picture. So, basically they make you an instant Holly Golightly.

I hope you all had a happy Mother’s Day. After all, Audrey said she believed “that happy girls are the prettiest girls,” and there is no doubt about that!

7 thoughts on “Listen to your mother.

  1. I’m truly not too acquainted with this topic but I do wish to check-out blogs for layout concepts and interesting subjects. You seriously described a subject matter that I ordinarily do not care much about and designed it rather fascinating. That is a good blog that I will be aware of. I by now bookmarked it for long term reference. Lung Cancer Symptoms

  2. Pingback: A Food and Fashion Frenzy. « Epicuriously Living

Leave a Reply

