Hey there, cupcake!

If you know anything about me, you would know that I enjoy a good cupcake. Whenever I leave Waco to go to Garland, I often stop at Sprinkles to get my favorite cupcakes. It is a well known bakery (well “cupcakery” seems more appropriate). The location I go to is at Preston Center, located in Dallas, Texas. Sprinkles was the first cupcake bakery, and has won the best cupcake award! In the recent years, specialty cupcake bakeries have popped up all over the map. It’s no surprise that most model their business after Sprinkles, because it is so successful.

My cupcake addiction doesn’t stop at digestible treats. I recently bought this little gem at the Waco Books-a-Million. I simply could not resist.

Needless to say, I enjoy the cupcake fad, because it’s a good excuse to feed my sweet tooth. But rumor has it that one of my favorite sweet treats is on its way out and Designer Doughnuts  are on the way in. This Doughnut wannabe  trend was first spotted a little over a year ago, but has not caught on much. Granted, trends sometime take a while to catch on.

I personally cannot imagine eating doughnuts like I eat cupcakes. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a good doughnut and grew up eating Chocolate filled and chocolate cake doughnuts, so I can only fathom rich, decadent, designer donuts. Currently my top ranked doughnut spot is taken by Shipley, but that may change this summer. I am visiting New York and fully intend to make a point to go to the Doughnut Plant, located on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. (I felt like Gossip Girl when I said that last part. Needless to say, I am excited about my trip, Upper East Siders! xoxo) My mouth is watering at the thought of the Blackout Doughnut which is a filled, cake doughnut…perfect for a chocolate lover like me. Talk about luxurious…

Yes, Doughnuts are good, but my heart is still loyal to cupcakes. Waco does have a couple cupcake places, but most times I make them myself using my Babycakes Cupcake Maker. I received it as a gift from my Aunt and Uncle in 2010 and have been using it like crazy ever since. Not only does it bake cupcakes, but muffins as well. There are some other more innovative things such as mini pies, quiches, and toast cups, but I am a creature of habit and tend to stick with what I like. (But trust me, if I ever have the time on my hands to make one of the more interesting items, y’all will be the first to know!) This little baby pops muffins and cupcakes out in 5 minutes flat. It is probably one of the best gadgets I own, besides my GPS, and only slightly less cooler than my Poppa’s digital fish finder from the late 80’s.

I pretty much bake a batch of muffins (or as my friend Megan likes to call them, “muffies”) every week, with the occasional batch of cupcakes. Though I do enjoy a good blueberry muffin, I try to switch it up. The other day I made dark chocolate,

chocolate chip. Let me tell you, they were delish. My Most recent “new flavor” was dark chocolate cinnamon. Can you sense a chocolate theme  here? Better get used to it. There is a reason that my roommate bought me this to hang on my door…

Anyway, these muffins just made me happy. They reminded me of my mom’s chocolate cinnamon sheet cake minus the frosting.

Perhaps there is a Gourmet Muffin bakery in my future just waiting to be opened…I’m curious to know.

3 thoughts on “Hey there, cupcake!

  1. Pingback: Hot and fresh out the kitchen. « Epicuriously Living

  2. Pingback: New things. « Epicuriously Living

Leave a Reply

