Whole Heartedly.

I used to regularly post recent recipes I had tried and liked…Because I haven’t done one of these in a very long time, you probably thought I quit eating. Not the case. I still abide by the rule of “life is too short to eat bad food.”

My most recent baking obsession has been with whole wheat flour. I prefer wheat bread over white bread any day, so I thought ‘why not make my baked goods a little better for me?’ Notice, I didn’t say taste healthier…here’s some recipes I’ve tried and loved, that haven’t sacrificed flavor for health. I mean if you’re trying to be super healthy, you really don’t want a cookie anyway. Don’t worry; I’ll eat what you don’t.

Whole Wheat chocolate chip cookies.

WWCCC

These were adapted from my friend Kim. She is a pole vaulter for Baylor, so she always does the healthy alternative for food. She’s a beast! Seriously though, don’t let the whole wheat fool you. I brought these to work and they were gone in a flash.

  • 4 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsps Baking Soda
  • 2 cups butter, softned
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 (3.4 oz) pkgs intant vanilla pudding mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsps vanilla extract
  • 4 cups chocolate chips (I like mixing milk, semi sweet, and dark)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Sift flour and baking soda and sit aside

In large bowl, cream together butter, brown sugar, and white sugar. Beat in pudding mix until blended. Stir in eggs and vanilla. Blend in flour mixture. Finally, stir in the chocolate chips. 

Create 1 inch balls of dough and place on baking sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes; edges should be golden brown.

Peanut butter whole wheat muffins with dark chocolate chunks.

I got this recipe from a blog called, How Sweet it Is. Most of it I kept the same, except I used regular Jif Peanutbutter, and I mixed semi sweet and dark chocolate chips. These are so yummy! Not only are they whole wheat, but they contain peanut butter, greek yogurt, less than a cup of sugar, and only 1 stick of butter!

WWCCC

Whole wheat pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

I love the flavor of pumpkin, but feel that it is so overdone in the fall. This is something different, yet tasty that everyone will love!

WWPB

  • 1 and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup pureed pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

Next, in a medium sized bowl combine the dry ingredients, and in a large bowl combine the wet ingredients.

Whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, making sure it is well blended. Mix in your chocolate chips. Once everything is mixed together, line a bread pan with parchment paper, and pour the batter into the pan.

Cook for 50-60 minutes.

Whole Wheat, no yeast Pizza Dough. 

Who doesn’t love pizza? Who doesn’t love a pizza that’s kind of good for you?!

WWPizza

  • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 3/4 tsp. baking powder (if using baking soda use half and omit salt)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tbsp. oil
  • 3/4 to 1 c. water

 Preheat oven to 400 F.

Mix dry ingredients. add 3/4 cup water and oil. Stir until it forms a ball. If dough is stiff, add more water.The dough will be soft, not sticky. Knead on a floured surface for 3-4 minutes.Add sauce and desired toppings.Bake for 15-25 minutes.

Whole Wheat Pasta.

This is an effortless switch. Whenever making spaghetti at home, just buy whole wheat noodles. I do this for all the pastas I make. This dish below is actually an avocado pasta recipe I got from the Flourishing Foodie. If you can’t resist the goodness of avocados, then this dish is definitely for you!

WWavacado

If baking and cooking with whole wheat or grains is just too much of a lifestyle switch, then start out with something easy. Goldfish and Cheezits both offer a whole grain option. Wheat Thins have a multi-grain version,and my personal favorite, Lance, sells whole grain butter crackers.

I’ll never be one of those girls claiming to always be on a diet and never eating much. The fact of the matter is, is that I like chocolate and cheeseburgers. However, I feel that God didn’t put us on the earth to be gluttonous, so I try to be healthy where I can.

Bon appetit!

“It is not good to eat much honey, nor is it glorious to seek one’s own glory.” Proverbs 25:27

4 thoughts on “Whole Heartedly.

  1. Hello! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Dessert is Stressed Spelled Backwards. | Epicuriously Living

Leave a Reply

