“George Bailey, I’ll love you ’til the day I die.”

I enjoy a good movie in almost any genre, but I LOVE Christmas movies. Here are my personal top five:

5)Miracle on 34th Street (The version from 1994). This was probably my favorite one as a child. Well… besides “Treasures of the Snow” that is…but I figure no one else knew that one, so I went with one more known.

4)The Grinch Who Stole Christmas . Who (pun…sorry. Had to) doesn’t like Jim Carrey in green and pre-goth and Gossip Girl, Taylor Momson? Plus it’s directed by the King of the Gingers.

3)Elf. If Will Ferrell can’t make you laugh, who can?

2)White Christmas. It’s my second favorite, but I love it almost as much as the first.  With the talent of Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye, you know it’s a good one. One reason it is close to my heart is because my sister and I, as well as our  sister friends, Laura and Sarah, performed the Sister Song in our elementary school talent show.

1)It’s a Wonderful Life. My favorite, favorite, favorite Christmas movie. It has so many good messages and is the ultimate classic, not to mention, the title of this post is a quote from this film. If you haven’t seen it, stop reading this post and watch it!

Of course, I couldn’t leave you without something tasty. These might kill you, they’re so good. Death by chocolate, for sure.

Cinnamon Chocolate Crackles.

1 1/2 cups bittersweet chocolate chips (divided as 1 cup and a half cup to be used at different times)

3 large egg whites at room temperature

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar (1 cup for the cookies, half a cup to roll them in)

1/2 cup cocoa powder

-1 TBS cornstarch

-1/4 tsp salt

- 2  1/2 tsp cinnamon extract

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Melt 1 cup chocolate chips in glass bowl in microwave, stirring twice, about 2 minutes. Cool slightly.
Using a mixer, beat whites in large bowl to soft peaks. Gradually beat in 1 cup sugar. Continue beating until mixture resembles soft marshmallow creme.

Whisk 1 cup sugar, cocoa, cornstarch, and salt in medium bowl to blend. On low speed, beat dry ingredients into meringue.

Stir in lukewarm chocolate, 1/2 cup chocolate chips, and cinnamon extract. It is normal for it to be stiff.
Place 1/2 cup sugar in bowl. Roll 1 rounded tablespoon dough into ball; roll in sugar, coating thickly.  Repeat with remaining dough, and space 2 inches apart.
Bake for 10 minutes; tops should be cracked. Let cool for 10 minutes.
And remember… “every time a bell rings, an angel gets its wings.”
3 thoughts on ““George Bailey, I’ll love you ’til the day I die.”

  1. Hello There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. That is a very neatly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

Leave a Reply

